Parking Commission

To pay citations online

Voiding Request Online Form
Voiding Request PDF Form

Established by ORDINANCE 14-2015-16 (September 3, 2015); 5 members (must be resident of city at least one year); 2-year term


  • Andrea Herrera        
    • Sept. 2020 – Aug. 2022
  •   Andy Kean      
    • Sept. 2021 – Aug. 2023
  •   David Shelton  
    • Sept. 2021 – Aug. 2023
  • Ryan Bowie    
    • Sept. 2020 – Aug. 2022
  • Councilman Travis Holleman (Eligible for re -appointment)     
    • Oct. 2019 - Aug. 2021


The Mission of the Clarksville Parking Commission is to provide, maintain and operate adequate, high-quality, customer-focused public parking and encourage economic growth for the benefit of the residents, businesses and visitors of Clarksville.

Responsible for the operation and management of city-owned on and off-street parking facilities. Meter maintenance, construction parking permits, hang-tag applications.


Effective Tuesday, September 8th, all meter sensors will be deactivated and downtown Clarksville on-street parking will be a "pay to play" environment. A payment of 25 cents is required to activate the meter; this payment will get you 15 minutes of parking PLUS one courtesy hour. It is then $2 for each additional hour up to 4 hours (increased from the previous 3 hours limit). On-street metered spaces remain free after 5 pm on weekdays and all day Saturday and Sunday. 


Are available in the surface lot outside of the historic court house and Cumberland Plaza Garage, located at:
2nd and Commerce Street
Clarksville, TN 37040


  • Visa/Mastercard/
  • U.S.$1.00, $0.25, $0.10 and $0.05

2016 Objectives

  • Address facility cleanliness
  • Increase number of hours for Maintenance staff, create schedule/plan
  • Develop snow/ice removal plan
  • Address beautification of facilities
  • Establish a new parking garage/parking garage study
  • Develop a long term parking plan, identifying anticipated growth and additional parking needs
  • Evaluate enforcement software
  • New enforcement vehicle

2015 Objectives

  • Begin power-washing garage and garage stairwells twice annually
  • Install trash receptacles in each garage
  • Complete installation of decorative meter sleeves
  • Install bulb-out to protect 2nd Street crosswalk
  • Request installation of “wrong way” signage at the back of stop signs
  • Enhance parking signage on street
  • Work with TRC to initiate a “First Hour Free” marketing campaign
  • Address issues with the Arlington monument at the Cumberland Plaza

2014 Objectives

  • Begin Franklin Street lot renovations
  • Bioswales were presented as an objective, David Smith proposed sharing the installation cost with the Street Department
  • Acceptance of online payments
  • Garage Improvements, including painting of stairwell and elevator doors, level identification, signage and addition of a water riser
  • Continued installation of the decorative meter sleeves
  • Explore purchase options for debit/credit mechanisms
  • Continued investigation of the potential supplementation of the TRC Director Salary funding
  • Communication and Marketing was identified as a prime area for improvement
  • Proposed installation of Wayfinding signage was noted as critical
  • Transitioning the top level of the garage to three-hour free parking
  • Continued examination of additional structured parking

View the 2014 Strategic Planning Session (DOC).

2013 Objectives

  • Continued investigation of our free parking initiative
  • Installation and monitoring of recently purchased bike racks to determine functionality and frequency of use
  • Determine a new approach to parking at the Regional Planning Commission, while completing renovations
  • Cooperate with the Street Department as they repair downtown sidewalks, restriping as necessary
  • Installation of meters on Public Square, supporting the reverse-diagonal spaces
  • Maintain and expand upon landscaping program
  • Cooperate with the Street Department to design and install “wayfinding” signage, directing traffic to off-street parking locations
  • Explore and consider findings of the charrette conducted by UT
  • Continued examination of additional structured parking

Meeting Documents